Review: The Only Pirate at the Party, by Lindsey Stirling and Brooke S. Passey

25330544

The Only Pirate at the Party, by Lindsey Stirling and Brooke S. Passey

Genres: Non-fiction, Biography

Rating: ✮✮✮✮

If you want to find me in a club, look for the sexiest girl in the room. Then turn slightly to the left, and you will see me dancing much faster and harder than her.

I’m not going to pretend like I’m one of Lindsey’s biggest fans, because I’m not. I do love her music, though, and I think she’s extremely talented. I’ve wanted to read her biography since I heard about it, too, because I knew that Lindsey was one of those people that have a heart three sizes too big.

The Only Pirate at the Party is a fun, entertaining journey from Lindsey’s adolescence to her success as a performer. I loved how honest she was about who she is, even about her faults. Plus, this book is one of the few that made me laugh. I don’t mean that it made me chuckle—I mean I literally laughed, the kind when you’re taking a big drink while someone tells you a joke. I’ve included a couple of my favorite passages:

I’d always imagined having a brother would entail living with a cool best friend who doubles as a yardman and sets up my tent on camping trips. Now, I just picture that monkey on YouTube that pees in his own mouth.

I think college is a lot like childbirth. I’ve never pushed a baby out myself, but I hear it’s comparable to doing squats over a pile of flaming swords.

Of course, I had to be reading this in the middle of my Chemistry class, so everyone got to see me clutching my sides while I guffawed into the table.

Her biography isn’t just funny jokes, though. She was also so open about her struggles with her eating disorder, and I loved how she explained it: it’s not just skipping meals, it’s this constant mental struggle with yourself, and it’s almost like there’s another person inside of you that’s bullying you around. Her stories about her lack of self-confidence felt earnest and real. In this book, she doesn’t feel like a celebrity at all, and that’s exactly what she’s getting at.

All in all, a very compelling biography about a very compelling individual.

Leave a Reply

