Review: The Umbrella Academy: Dallas, by Gerard Way and Gabriel Bá

6413286

The Umbrella Academy: Dallas, by Gerard Way and Gabriel Bá

Genres: Graphic Novels, Science Fiction

Rating: ✮✮✮✮✮

“I am in the jungle and I am too fast for you. You have teeth and stripes and things that tear. But I am much too fast….You want my flesh, but you don’t know where the jungle is….Only I know where the jungle is….Only I know….

I am a gazelle.

I am a gazelle and the jungle is my home.”

I’m going to pimp this comic for a second.

What can I say to get you to read The Umbrella Academy? I could tell you about Gerard Way’s clever, master-storytelling abilities, how he ties everything together into one perfect storyline that rises and falls but altogether, feels complete. I could tell you about Gabriel Bá’s eclectic art style, which without, the comic wouldn’t be the same, because the art suits the manner of the story perfectly and makes it explode across the pages. I could also tell you that this is one of the only American comic books I bother reading lately, because it’s entertaining, bizarre, gory and makes me really, really happy.

I could also tell you that there is a glowing introduction inside of Dallas from none other than Neil Gaiman.

…Hey, I haven’t much experience with his work yet, but even I know who he is.

Seriously, if you’re into comics, read The Umbrella Acadmey. I know I’m biased, because Gerard Way was the lead singer for my favorite band, My Chemical Romance. I worship the ground that man walks on. But I’m also not afraid to say I hate something, even if it’s from an author that I love. And I don’t hate The Umbrella Academy. I don’t hate it at all. I loved Apocalypse Suite, but Dallas is just as good. It closely follows Number Five, the mysterious member of the Academy that disappeared into the future when he was ten years old and came back just in time to prevent the apocalypse. Some other subjects include nuclear missiles, time-traveling assassins, Vietnam vampires, and the Kennedy assassination. Along the way, there’s a chimp dressed up as Marilyn Monroe, and apparently God is a cowboy.

I’m not kidding. Please read this.

Leave a Reply

