Harry Potter Book Tag!

Happy Friday!

I found this over at the Mud and Stars Book Blog. It was created by Trang and Lashaan at Bookitode, as were the graphics. 🙂

Anyone is free to do it! There is only one rule: you are not allowed to use Harry Potter as an answer.

flagrate

A book in which you found the theme interesting, but you’d like to rewrite it:

7728889I really liked the concept behind The Diviners, but it had too much filler and was unnecessarily long. It’s supposed to be about the occult, set in the 1920’s, but unfortunately, it was a little too much about the latter and not enough about the former. It was also extremely boring.

 

 

 

 


alohomora

The first book in a series that got you hooked:

176754621Okay. Okay. I know that I’m currently reading this, but guys. This book is amazing, and I’m loving the hell out of it. I am having to restrain myself from buying the entire series and binge-reading it when I have at least eleven library books that I need to read. The writing is beautiful, the characters are so developed and complex, and I love how Maggie Stiefvater keeps little secrets that make me desperate to figure them out. It’s truly a wonderful book.

 

 

 


accio

A book you wish you could have right now:

247636211I just discovered this on Goodreads. It’s a retelling of Labyrinth, the movie with David Bowie. A girl makes a deal with the Goblin King to let her sister go, in exchange for her freedom. I’ve never seen Labyrinth, so I don’t know the story, but it sounds really enchanting. Plus, the cover is absolutely gorgeous.

 

 

 

 


avadakevadra

A killer book. Both senses. Take it as you like:

77660271

i-dont-even-have-time-nonsense

Heh. Heheheheheh.

 

 


confundo

A book that you found really confusing:

158399761I know a lot of my friends really love this book, but I couldn’t finish it. Pierce Brown didn’t transition into his world very well, and there was a lot of terminology that I didn’t understand. I’d reached about the 60% mark and I realized that I had absolutely no idea what the world looked like or what was going on.

 

 

 

 


expectopatronum

Your spirit animal book:

195478561This book. This book. It is one of the cutest, sweetest stories I’ve ever read. And even though people find this really hard to believe – because I’m always scowling, I guess – Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda is what my soul looks like on the inside. I try to act tough, but I’m actually the biggest softball you’ll ever meet. I fawn over puppies, I adore sweet things, and I’m a gigantic sap. Simon and I are almost exactly alike; his obsession with music mirrors mine with books, and we even talk the same. He’s more outgoing than I am, but otherwise we have identical personalities.

Yes. Including the gay thing.

 


sectumsempra

A dark, twisted book:

277747581I have a hard time thinking of a book darker than An Ember In The Ashes. I’m sure there are a few, but this book is so twisted and nasty that it was the first one that popped in my head. There’s themes of torture and abuse, betrayal, and some of these characters are just so evil that it makes me want to crush their skull and at the same time, run and hide. Such, such a good book.

 

 

 


aparecium

A book that surprised you in a great way:

30976011Suicide Notes meshes two themes that I really like in a book: mental health and LGBTQIA. Jeff’s narration is really snarky and fresh, and for a book about suicide, it made me laugh quite a lot. I wasn’t expecting that at all.

 

 

 

 

 


black-decorative-page-divider

Well, that’s all of them!

I forgot to do tags last time, but I don’t really like to do them because I don’t like to force people to do things if they don’t want to. So, I’ll do the general thing and open this up for anyone who wants to do it – and hasn’t already done it.

I hope everyone has a good weekend! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Harry Potter Book Tag!”

  1. Great answers 🙂 I’m excited to see so much love for The Raven Boys – I’m planning to read it very soon, as it’s been sitting on my shelf for ages, and I keep hearing such good things about it! And also, I had no idea An Ember in the Ashes was so dark and twisted – is it weird that that makes me really want to read it?! Suicide Notes sounds good too – adding to my TBR 🙂 And finally – I think Simon vs. is my spirit animal too, and I ADORE that book so much.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I put off The Raven Boys for a long time, too. I hope you like it!

      An Ember In The Ashes is very morally complex, and A Torch Against The Night even more. I didn’t expect it either, but it’s full of a lot of despair. Definitely not the most cheerful of books xD

      Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda is EVERYTHING. I adore it so much. After I read it, I ate Oreos for a week. It’s so damn cute. ❤

      I hope you enjoy Suicide Notes! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

