Review: The Raven Boys, by Maggie Stiefvater

176754621The Raven Boys, by Maggie Stiefvater

Genres: Young Adult, Paranormal, Mystery-Thriller

Rating: ✮✮✮✮✮

Once she’d seen his death laid out for him, and seen that he was real, and found out that she was meant to have a part in it, there had never been a chance she would just stand by and let it happen.

Well, I’ll be damned. I actually loved it.

I understand what would put people off of The Raven Boys. For starters, the pace is slower than average, and nothing exciting really happens. It feels like its only purpose is to open up for the next book, where the action really begins. Normally, I hate these sort of books. It feels like a complete waste of my time – but The Raven Boys is an exception.

To enjoy it, you have to have a deep attraction for the characters. Liking one isn’t enough; you have to care about all of them enough to see how the story is going to play out. Otherwise, you are going to be dragged along through churchyards and forests to magical places you don’t give a shit about as these guys try to unravel the mystery behind Glendower.

Something that surprised me was that the romance isn’t heavy at all. Supposedly Blue will kill her true love if she kisses him, which we all know is Gansey. Even so, there’s a lot you can do besides kissing, but Maggie Stiefvater doesn’t test that fact, which I appreciated. Blue’s relationship with Adam, too, is very light and sweet. (Even though I totally ship him with Ronan.) So, really, this wasn’t a paranormal romance like I originally thought; it is much more of a supernatural mystery.

I really love this story arc. It feels wide, like it’s opening up to a big, badass series that you’ll get addicted to and eventually, it will destroy your life. What this book lacks in pace makes up for in its writing style. Plus, Maggie Stiefvater does a great job of keeping you on your toes. There are so many mysteries behind the raven boys, little things that she hints at but never describes, leaving it for the characters to tell later in a more natural element. This means that even after all I’ve learned and loved about them, there are still many things that I have yet to discover. It’s a promise for more to come.

I still have much to read about the raven boys, but I can tell already that I’m going to love it.

Leave a Reply

