The ‘I Messed Up’ Book Tag!

Hey everyone! It’s Monday. I’m bored. I decided that I wanted to do a tag. I consulted Google, and I discovered the ‘I Messed Up’ Book Tag over at TheJouskaBlog!


A character’s appearance you misread or imagined differently:

18207188

When I started reading Nina LaCour’s Everything Leads To You, I imagined Emi, the main character, as a blonde. I don’t know why; it just sort of happened. It was somewhere around the middle of the book that it was revealed she was a quarter black, so I’m guessing she had dark hair.

Oops.

 

 

 


A character name you’ve been pronouncing differently:

604001

My brother and I had this really long debate over whether Alyss was pronounced like Uh-liss or Ah-liss. I reasoned that it looked like the beginning of Allyssa, but I’ve searched online and I guess I lot of people pronounce it like Alice. Shit.

 

 

 

 

 


An overused trope that is your guilty pleasure:

I don’t know if this is a ‘trope’, exactly, but I love it when a pairing starts out hating each other, or at least not giving a shit. There’s something that I love about a rivalry transforming into a romance. I think it adds a lot of tension.

 

Oh Alicia you did not just go there.


A cliched character type you enjoy viewing on screen than reading about:

I really, really hate high-school drama and other Mean Girl related bullshit when I read, but I don’t mind it so much when I’m watching a movie. I think it’s because I’m not inside of their heads and I don’t have to listen to their thoughts.

Image result for Mean girls gif


A word/phrase you learned because of its use in a book:

30976011

I don’t use this phrase in real life, but one of my favorite phrases that I’ve ever read in a book has to be from Suicide NotesSweet Jesus Christ on a biscuit.” COME ON. That phrase is made out of gold.

 

 

 

 

 


Have you ever not read or completed a required reading for school?

78091

Yes. I feel ashamed for it, but my sophomore year we were supposed to read Lay That Trumpet On Our Hands, by Susan Carol McCarthy, and I couldn’t do it. It was so dry. It’s supposed to be reminiscent of To Kill a Mockingbird, which is my favorite book, but trust me, it is nothing like TKAM.

 

 

 

 


Have you ever skipped or wanted to skip a chapter from the POV of a character you weren’t interested in?

17404295

I enjoyed Meira’s narration in Snow Like Ashes, but in Ice Like Fire, I hated it. I wanted to stay with Mather – not because I particularly liked him, but there was so much more going on where he was. The book ended up being boring overall because the plot was really empty.

 

 

 

 


Have you ever cancelled social plans to read a book?

Lol. Of course. I’ve had sleepovers with my friends that I ended up cancelling because I “wasn’t feeling well” – when in actuality, I was so absorbed in a book that I didn’t want to put it down for a second, not even to eat cupcakes and have food fights. (I had frosting in my hair for a week after that.)

tumblr_m5gunpxmrc1qbldd1


black-decorative-page-divider

I TAG ALL OF YOU!

And by the way, Happy October 3rd.

giphy

I am going to spend the rest of the day looking up Mean Girl memes.

4 thoughts on “The ‘I Messed Up’ Book Tag!”

  1. Happy October 3rd! ^^ This is a great tag… And I agree with you, lovers who start as haters are just so dreamy. I don’t know why but they just are. Like you said, the tension between them is just phenomenal! I can’t get enough of that trope.

    Like

Leave a Reply

