Kind-of Review: The Dream Thieves, by Maggie Stiefvater

173473891

The Dream Thieves, by Maggie Stiefvater

Genres: Young Adult, Paranormal, Mystery-Thriller

Rating: ✮✮✮✮✮

All of us have secrets in our lives. We’re keepers or kept-from, players or played. Secrets and cockroaches – that’s what will be left at the end of it all.

Ronan Lynch lived with every sort of secret.

I mentioned in my review of The Raven Boys that this is the sort of series that is going to eat you up and destroy your life.

Well, it has. And I’m only halfway there. I shit you not, my Pinterest is 95% configured to The Raven Cycle right now.

Anyway. The Dream Thieves is where Ronan becomes a bigger piece on the board. We learn that he has the ability to steal things from his dreams – impossible, spectacular, and occasionally horrifying things. He is the Greywaren. He is being hunted by hoards of men who are after his power and plan to abuse it. He also might have a bigger connection to Cabeswater than he could’ve imagined.

So basically, Ronan’s mind + ability to make dreams real = shitfest of monsters and mobsters out to kill him.

I have to say, for a series that is about a bunch of private school boys (and one non-psychic girl) trapezing around a subdued town in Virginia in search of a dead Welsh king, it manages to keep you entertained from the very first page to the last one – and it leaves you aching for more. There are times when things get so weird that I want to laugh and say that everyone is high, and then there are times when my emotions get so tangled up inside of my chest that all I can do is keep reading because there is nothing else that I possibly could do.

I could get drunk off of these books.

Just after dreaming, his body belonged to no one. He looked at it from above, like a mourner at a funeral. The exterior of this early-morning Ronan didn’t look at all like how he felt on the inside. Anything that didn’t impale itself on the sharp line of this sleeping boy’s cruel mouth would be tangled in the merciless hooks of his tattoo, pulled beneath his skin to drown.

Sometimes, Ronan thought he would be trapped like this, floating outside his body.

This isn’t even a review. A review would consist of some sort of coherent, analytical response. It would draw out the finer points of the book, dissect into themes and motifs, and would form a discussion about the plot’s structure and how it was crafted.

All I want to do is talk about how adorable Noah Czerny is with a snow globe.

Noah had wandered down the aisle, but now he gleefully returned with a snow globe. He stood behind Ronan until he pushed off the shelf to admire the atrocity. A seasonally decorated palm tree and two faceless sunbathers were trapped inside, along with a painted, erroneous statement: IT’S ALWAYS CHRISTMAS SOMEWHERE.

Glitter,” whispered Noah reverentially, giving it a shake. Sure enough, it was not fake snow but glitter that precipitated on the eternal holiday sands. Both Ronan and Chainsaw watched, transfixed, as the colorful bits caught in the palm tree.

I can’t even begin to try to explain just why The Raven Cycle has hooked me so hard. It’s like trying to explain a color without using the word. It’s strange – it’s beyond strange, honestly; but that’s what makes it so charming, in a very twisted way.

I can not wait to read Blue Lily, Lily Blue.

2 thoughts on “Kind-of Review: The Dream Thieves, by Maggie Stiefvater”

  1. Maggie Stiefvater’s writing is simply magic, I love the rhythm of her words – and the way she seamlessly blend humour and beautiful descriptions in her TRC books. The Dream Thieves is my favourite of the series by far!

    Like

    1. I couldn’t agree more! I’ve found that lately, writing of that kind puts me off because most of the time it’s really dissonant and awkward – but Maggie Stiefvater’s is perfect! 🙂

      The Dream Thieves is my favorite so far too, but I just started Blue Lily, Lily Blue today, so…we’ll see! 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

