Review: Death Note: Another Note – The Los Angeles BB Murder Cases, by NisiOisiN

2021816

Death Note: Another Note – The Los Angeles BB Murder Cases, by NisiOisiN

Genres: Light Novel, Mystery-Thriller

Rating: ✮✮✮✮✮

“Naomi Misora, I cannot overlook evil. I cannot forgive it. It does not matter if I know the person who commits evil or not. I am only interested in justice.”

large

I am never going to read anything related to Death Note without it leaving me completely mind-fucked.

(Spoilers ahead!)

I read Death Note back when I was fourteen. To this day, it stands as my favorite manga. Even so, it never fails to confuse the shit out of me. The logic behind it is completely irrational; how Tsugumi Ohba and Takeshi Obata managed to weave it all together is beyond my comprehension. The Los Angeles BB Murder Cases feels just like that. There’s missing books, word puzzles, a body made to look like a clock, locked doors that might or might not be possible, and numbers that are one thing and yet something completely different.

It’s all so ridiculous, yet it all works – because with someone with an intelligence identical to L, it has to be.

I have to clarify something: I knew that BB looked like L. Perhaps not as exact as the fan art claims him to be, but I’ve been inside of the fandom long enough. I knew who BB was, I’d heard of these cases before.

Yet this book still got me.

I am usually pretty good at mysteries. Once I start analyzing something, I can’t leave it alone until I’m one-hundred percent certain I’m correct – and I always have to know why before I can move on. I thought I had this book all figured out, but I made one crucial error: I assumed that L was Ryuzaki.

Those that have read or watched Death Note are very familiar with L: his many oddities, his mannerisms, his startling appearance. When Rue Ryuzaki is introduced in The Los Angeles BB Murder Cases, it is made to look like he is L. Even knowing that BB and L were dopplegangers, I never suspected anything, simply because I didn’t have any reason to – and that’s what the creators wanted. They didn’t want to create any suspicion on that front. Instead, what they wanted was to focus on how Ryuzaki’s behavior affected Naomi Misora. While we all thought that Naomi was being stupid and missing Ryuzaki’s obvious identity, we were being fooled ourselves.

It was pretty genius.

I had a lot of fun reading this little book. I feel a little nostalgic, reading new material on an old fandom of mine, but perhaps this is a chance to dive into it once again.

One thought on “Review: Death Note: Another Note – The Los Angeles BB Murder Cases, by NisiOisiN

  1. Pingback: Light Novel Notes (October 2016 — Round 2) | English Light Novels

Leave a Reply

