Another Kind-Of Review: Blue Lily, Lily Blue, by Maggie Stiefvater

17378508

Blue Lily, Lily Blue, by Maggie Stiefvater

Genres: Young Adult, Paranormal, Mystery-Thriller

Rating: ✮✮✮✮✮

Earlier that year, when Blue had first met the boys, there had been a moment when she had suddenly struck by how she was being drawn into their tangled lives. Now she realized that she had never been drawn in. She had been there all along, together with this woman, and all the other women at Fox Way, and maybe even Malory and his Dog. They were not creating a mess. They were just slowly illuminating the shape of it.

I have finished the third book and I am now officially terrified.

I’m having a really hard time finding words. The Dream Thieves might still be my favorite, but Blue Lily, Lily Blue would be next. It’s not at all because Pynch is becoming even more evident the further we go along, I swear.

Yet again, this series mystifies me. Everything is one thing and then it’s another. Things happen, impossible things, like the daughter of a Welsh King is awoken without ever being asleep. Ronan can control his dreams, Adam can communicate with Cabeswater, and Gansey might have a power inside of him that’s going to be revealed in The Raven King.

He also is probably going to die, but I’m trying not to think about that.

In Blue Lily, Lily Blue, it is all about the search for Maura, Blue’s mother, who disappeared underground for reasons that are left unknown. To make matters worse, Greenmantle has arrived in Henrietta as the boys’ new Latin teacher and is lying in wait, waiting for his chance to strike.

I have said from the very beginning that I love how connected this story is. Instead of feeling like separate installments, The Raven Cycle feels like a book that was split into four parts, which really works in its favor. This really draws me in and feels makes me feel even more invested in this series than I already am. (There is a Murder Squash Song t-shirt on Society6 and I swear to god, I’m going to buy it.) Like in Harry Potter, I didn’t feel any shift from book to book; I merely finished one and fell into the next.

This series is dangerously addictive. I think I need help.

“Mirrors,” Gwenllian cooed. “That is what we are. When you hold a candle in front of a glass, doesn’t it make the room twice as bright? So do we, blue lily, lily blue.”

If you’ll excuse me, I will continue to look up massive amounts of fan art, kill myself while I wait to read The Raven King, and maybe or maybe not write a fan fiction that might or might not have Ronan and Adam driving around Henrietta and aggressively listening to Twenty-One Pilots.

14876220

Leave a Reply

