One More Kind-Of Review: The Raven King, by Maggie Stiefvater

173785271The Raven King, by Maggie Stiefvater

Genres: Young Adult, Paranormal, Mystery-Thriller

Rating: ✮✮✮✮✮

“The head is too wise. The heart is all fire.”

Part of me wants to squeal. Part of me wants to cry. Part of me wants to flip a table.

Another, very large part of me wants to curl in a ball, because now it’s over and I don’t know what to do.

You know what The Raven King has that the previous books don’t have? A shitstorm. It is the creepiest of the books by far and would make one hell of a horror movie. It also the book where everything starts to come together – meaning everything is falling apart, of course. With a demon awoken, Cabeswater is dying, and that affects everyone tied to it: The Gangsey, Henry Cheng, the women at 300 Fox Way, the Gray Man, everyone.

I honestly didn’t expect it to end like this. I didn’t have an image in my head, but if I had, it wouldn’t have been anything like what happened. Everything ties together perfectly, but with knots that I didn’t know existed – does that make any sense? It does in my head. And the best part is, it still doesn’t feel finished – and it isn’t. The end of The Raven King leads up to another series that is already in the works, based around Ronan and Adam.

You hear that? It’s the sound of thousands of readers shrieking with joy.

His feelings for Adam were an oil spill; he’d let them overflow and now there wasn’t a damn place in the ocean that wouldn’t catch fire if he dropped a match.

Pynch. Is. Everything.

I love this series so much. That’s really all I can write: it’s what draws the line between books that you like and books that you love. You lose all coherency; everything is just emotion. I couldn’t explain it if I tried. Such a delicately structured series should not be tampered with or dissected, just enjoyed. Besides, the writing is beautiful but full of oxymorons, constantly looping around to contradict itself, which although I enjoy, it also makes me extremely dizzy. I think that’s the point, though.

You will never find anything like The Raven Cycle, ever. It is unique, fresh, and alive, full of mystery and unexplainable magic. Describing it doesn’t do it justice. What I thought was another flimsy paranormal romance dug into a deep, deep obsession of mine, full of emotionally complex characters and mystical intrigue. It has left a legacy.

If you have not read The Raven Boys yet, I highly recommend doing it. Now.

Image result

Leave a Reply

